Rounding off

I guess that’s it from me.

I’ve really learnt a lot from all SMiELT 08 participants . I look forward to keeping in touch and going on interacting / networking.

The following are just some of the phrases I loved reading while doing this research:

“Don’t we need to teach kids how to use technology safely as well as more efficiently?”

Illya

 

“How can teachers appreciate the magnitude, the networking, the collegiality of the teachers already online, the sharing and the whole deal if some schmuck does the hard yards for them? How can they be totally committed to creating a unique learning opportunity for their students if they themselves haven’t invested some virtual blood, sweat and tears?”

Graham Wegner

 

“Making the simple complicated is commonplace; making the complicated simple, awesomely simple, that’s creativity. “

Charles Mingus (from Wide Open Spaces: Wikis, ready or not?)

 

“If we want to see kids embrace the power of communication technologies like blogs and wikis and podcasts, we need to be good teacher-planners “

Chris Lehmann (from Getting students to blog by Nancy McKeand)

 

“To teachers who are starting:

* learn how to use the tools quickly, learn on your own, new tools are developed constantly, you cannot have someone tutoring you all the time.

    * use those tools to learn. Think of yourself as a learner, not a teacher; because if you cannot forget you are teacher, your students run a serious risk”

     

    3 Comments

    Filed under General posts

    3 responses to “Rounding off

    1. I’ve also very much enjoyed your posts and look forward to reading more from you 🙂
      But it needn’t be over yet.
      A ball has been set rolling, which will hopefully gain momentum.
      And there are couple more weeks of smielt if you care to stay with us, which I honestly hope you will.

    2. I will stay with you commenting on posts and forums and adding stuff to wikis .

      The Academic Term in my part of the world is starting in less than a month and will be working on that- that’s why I’m sort of closing this blog which was opened for the EVO 2008 event- I will be getting back to my original blog (Which I left temporarily because of the SMiELT 08 blogging commitments)

      I will accompany all of you from “the back”.

      Best regards for everybody.

    3. Hopefully you’ll bring back this blog next evo session- I enjoyed reading it 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    